Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation

Edit, Unpublish, Revert, and Delete Content

Main content start

Stanford Sites allows you to manage content in flexible ways. This guide covers some of the basics about managing your content.

Edit

There are two ways to access the editing experience for a page.

To edit a page, navigate to that page and click on the Edit tab.

You can also go to All Content ( [yoursiteURL]//admin/content) to locate the content you wish to edit. You can then select the Edit option from the Operations column:

To learn more about what to do once you have opened the page for editing, visit our guide on Adding Content to a Page.

Save your work

An important part of the page editing process is saving your work. You should save your work when you are done editing or any time you need to take a break from editing. It is important that you save the whole page, not just an individual paragraph. To ensure you are saving the page you are working on, scroll down to the bottom of the page until you see the Save button, which is located below the Layout, Menu and other page-level options. Click Save.

If you try to leave the page you are working on without saving it, you will get an alert from your browser. It will say "Leave site? Changes you made may not be saved."

Unless you save your work as unpublished, your changes will be available to site visitors about 5 minutes after you save.

Unpublish

Most content on your site can be unpublished. Unpublished content can only be seen by Site Managers, Site Editors, and Contributors. If you want to save any content as a draft, but don't want it visible for site visitors, or if you need to take down an old page, unpublishing is a non-destructive method for removing content.

If you aren't sure if you will need it again, we recommend you unpublish your page rather than deleting the page.

How to unpublish pages

There are two ways to unpublish pages

Unpublish individual pieces of content

  1. Edit the page.
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the page.
  3. Right above the Save button, there should be a checkbox labeled Published.
Screenshot illustrating how to Edit, Delete, Revert, and Unpublish content
  1. To unpublish the page, uncheck the Published checkbox.
Screenshot illustrating how to Edit, Delete, Revert, and Unpublish content
  1. Save.

 

Unpublish content in bulk

You can unpublish multiple pieces of content at once. This is handy if you are taking down a whole section of your site.

To unpublish multiple items:

  1. Visit the content overview page by going to All Content in the admin menu ( /admin/content)
  2. Check the boxes next to the pages you wish to unpublish.
  3. Select Unpublish from the Actions menu
  4. Click the "Apply to Selected Items" button.=

Appearance of unpublished content

On an individual page

When you visit an unpublished page as a site manager/editor/contribitor, you will see a yellow alert that informs you that the page is unpublished.

 

Unpublished content in your navigation

When you create or unpublish a page that is in your site navigation, you will be able to see that it is unpublished when you hover over the menu item. 

Site managers, editors, and contributors will be able to see the menu item, but site visitors will not be able to see the menu item.

Find unpublished content

If you have placed your unpublished content in your navigation, you will be able to find it through your site menu. If not, you can go to All Content from the admin menu (or [yoursiteURL]/admin/content) and filter down to see all unpublished content.

Revert

Stanford Sites saves your page revisions automatically. The five most recent revisions are stored and available in the event you need to revert to an earlier version. Older revisions are removed automatically.

To revert to an earlier version of a page, click on the "Revisions" tab.

Screenshot illustrating how to Edit, Delete, Revert, and Unpublish content

Select a recent version, and click the Revert tab.

If you find you need to revert to an earlier version of your website as a whole, file a support ticket with Stanford Web Services. We back up your site nightly and can always restore your site to the previous day.

Delete

There are three ways to delete a page.

While viewing the page

  1. Navigate to the page you would like to delete
  2. Click the Delete tab near the top of the page
Screenshot illustrating how to Edit, Delete, Revert, and Unpublish content
  1. You will be redirected to a confirmation page. Select the Delete button.
Screenshot illustrating how to Edit, Delete, Revert, and Unpublish content

While editing the page

  1. Edit the page you would like to delete.
  2. Scroll toward the bottom of the editing page.
  3. To the right of the Save button, there is a link labeled Delete.
Screenshot illustrating how to Edit, Delete, Revert, and Unpublish content
  1. Select Delete.

From the content overview

You can also go to All Content ( [yoursiteURL]//admin/content) to locate the content you wish to delete. You can then select the Edit option from the Operations column.

Alternatively, you can delete several pages at once. Select items for deletion by checking boxes next to each item. You can then select Delete selected entities/translations.

Screenshot illustrating how to Clone page(s)

Clone page(s)

Any page on Stanford Sites can be cloned to create a new page.